View Cart

Vanilla Pod - Seeing Out The Sunrise HEAVE011

2015 is a big year for Vanilla Pod. It's their 20th anniversary of being a band. Who'd have ever thought that back in '95 that it'd come this far, but it has In April they will release their 6th full recording which will come as a 7 track Mini LP called "Seeing Out The Sunrise" which is to be released on CD and Coloured Vinyl in the UK on TNS Records and Dry Heave Records and released in Japan on Fixing A Hole. There will be a series of gigs to celebrate in April including a two day festival called Podstock which features bands and old friends like Snuff, Capdown, Consumed and Goober Patrol amongst many others which sold out within 14 hours of tickets going on sale. They plan on making another trip over to mainland Europe later in the year to promote their new release to top off what appears to be a great year for them. Vanilla Pod are playing as much as they want to and still enjoying the ride.

Vanilla Pod were originally formed in February 1995 in King's Lynn, Norfolk with original vocalist Paul Davis. Having recorded their initial demo, Paul left the band to be replaced by then-15 year old Rob Bunting. A short while later - with the new line-up - the band released their début single Rebound on local record label Off-Shoot. Shortly thereafter, the band was signed to Corby-based label Them's Good and released their début album Trigger in 1997 as well as partaking in a full tour of the UK.

The band returned to the studio in 1998 to record their second full-length Faster Disco, also released on Them's Good as well as undertaking more touring of the UK and Ireland.
In 2000 Vanilla Pod completed a four-week tour of Australia and Hong Kong. Also in this year, original bassist Steve Campion left the band, to be replaced by Leon Muncaster who was with the band in time to record third full-length Third Time Lucky in 2001, which was released on UK punk rock label Deck Cheese. In May 2001 the band released Dead End Town, from Third Time Lucky, as a single which garnered some radio airplay on BBC Radio 1 amongst other stations. During this time, Vanilla Pod played gigs alongside bands such as Less Than Jake, No Use For A Name, The Bouncing Souls, Samiam to name a few. Deciding to become a five-piece, Steve Campion temporarily re-joined the band (with current bassist Leon moving over to second guitar) before ultimately being replaced by Tom Wicks. October 2002 saw the band complete a full UK tour alongside Capdown and Twofold.

Early 2003 saw Tom Wicks leave the band to be replaced by Goober Patrol and Toy Dolls bassist Tom Blyth. Later in the year the band - and their new bassist and five-person line-up - recorded their fourth full-length and critically acclaimed "Surrounded By Idiots" which would come out that year on Deck Cheese and later released on Pyropit records in Japan. The heavy touring schedule became too much for drummer Gary Colman and so he decided to leave the band, to be replaced by John Waterfield. Soon after this new addition, they went off on a European tour supporting MU330 and carried on touring the UK and Europe extensively.

After a short hiatus, in 2008 Vanilla Pod alongside many other bands, contributed two newly recorded tracks to a charity compilation CD called Gangsta's Corner. These would be the first Vanilla Pod recordings since 2003. Later that year, Vanilla Pod line-up returned, yet again, to the studio to record their fifth full-length album - entitled Poets on Payday - which would see release in October 2009 on Boss Tuneage. At the end of 2010 Tom decided to leave the band unfortunately due to moving out of the country. He was replaced by long standing friend Matt Clarke. The Pod have had a new recent addition of one of their oldest friends and great drummer Robin Tow from One Car Pile Up who joined their ranks due to John Waterfield deciding to call it a day. This has been a great addition to Vanilla Pod and has given them and their songs a new lease of life and felling very strong a positive about the future.

Pressing Information

500 limited edition yellow/orange swirl vinyl for Record Store Day 2015


  1. She's Dead Now
  2. Leaving The Bentnick Dock
  3. A47
  4. G.T.B.
  5. Wishing Well
  6. Deaf Lugs
  7. Restore Factory Settings